662 total views, 2 views today





August 24 2017 Faf du Plessis will lead the World XI side for three T20Is against Pakistan in Lahore.

The World XI side that will tour Pakistan for a three-match T20I series in September, will be led by South Africa captain Faf du Plessis, PCB chief Najam Sethi announced in a press conference on Thursday (August 24). The first two T20Is of the Independence Cup will be played on September 12 and 13, and the final game will be played on September 15, in Lahore.

The squad boasts of as many as five South Africa players, namely Hashim Amla, David Miller, Morne Morkel and Imran Tahir, apart from skipper du Plessis himself. The star-studded 14-member squad will feature three Australians too – George Bailey, Ben Cutting and wicketkeeper-batsman Tim Paine. Darren Sammy, who was a part of the Pakistan Super League 2 Final, will lead the West Indian representation alongside Samuel Badree.

There is one player each from England, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and New Zealand, in Paul Collingwood, Tamim Iqbal, Thisara Perera and Grant Elliott respectively. The only countries which do not have a representation in the World XI squad are India, and Zimbabwe. Andy Flower was appointed coach of the touring side previously.

Faf du Plessis (C), Hashim Amla, Samuel Badree, George Bailey, Paul Collingwood, Ben Cutting, Grant Elliott, Tamim Iqbal, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Tim Paine, Thisara Perera, Imran Tahir, Darren Sammy